About This Department

Department: College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Insitution: North Carolina State University at Raleigh
  Raleigh, NC

The Department of Horticultural Science is composed of 34 faculty. We deliver research, creative design, innovative teaching, extension, and outreach associated with the production and utilization, ecology, breeding and basic biology of fruit, vegetable, flower, ornamental, and functional horticultural plants. Through constant evaluation and adjustment, we lead with partners to create a horticultural science hub that optimizes the role of plants in addressing local to global grand challenges. The department has robust certificate, associates, undergraduate, and graduate training programs. The NC Cooperative Extension partners the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indian Tribal leadership and with all one hundred County Governments through county offices.